Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
You are here: Home

Get ready to sea things differently

... during Oban, Lorn and the Isles' 3rd Festival of the Sea: 22 - 31 May 2015

Our climate, geography, heritage and employment are defined by the sea. This community festival recognises the relationship between local people and the sea in celebration and with pride.

 

This Festival of the Sea 2015 offers more than 30 unusual events: Get ready to be amazed, intrigued and challenged. Try something new. Fall in love with the sea - and lets together look after it!

 

Warm up - the Heavenly Harpies play sea songs on their clarsachs at the Calmac Ferry Terminal in Oban on Saturday 16 May from ca 1.30 pm.

 

PROGRAMME

Friday, 22 May

 

Saturday, 23 May

 

Sunday, 24 May

 

Monday, 25 May

 

Tuesday, 26 May

 

Wednesday, 27 May

 

Thursday, 28 May

 

Friday, 29 May

 

Saturday, 30 May

 

Sunday, 31 May

 

May 25-29 & 31: Art exhibition 'Under the Sea in Argyll' by local pupils, Calmac & Ocean Explorer Centre (during opening hours)

May 25-29: Challenger - an exhibition by Alice Strange. SAMS reception, Dunbeg: 9 am - 5 pm

 

You can download the printed programme here. (It is in pdf format and requires you to have / download Adobe Acrobat Reader to open it.)

 

The festival is organised by the Ocean Explorer Centre and supported by SAMS, BID4Oban, the Scottish Government, the University of the Highlands and Islands and the Argyll and Bute Regional Environmental Education Forum.